home pageeditorial boardcurrent issueback issuessearchguidelinescontactåëëçíéêÜ



Issue 29

(Fall 2016)




biographical notes


Nafsika Chatzichristou

Nafsika Chatzichristou holds a Doctoral Degree from the University of Athens – Department of Music Studies in the field of Cultural Management and Audience Development applied in the Greek classical music and opera audience. She also holds a Bachelor Degree from the same department and a Master’s Degree from The Juilliard School with a major in classical guitar. She has taught lessons on cultural management, music criticism and classical guitar for several years at the University of Macedonia – Department of Music Science and Art. She also has a wide teaching experience in other higher educational institutes (such as the Technological Educational Institute of Epirus), Institutes of Vocational Training (I.E.K.), as well as private colleges (such as Saint Lawrence), conservatories and public schools.

She has studied classical guitar under the famous soloist Liza Zoi, and has attended various seminars with other important classical guitar soloists in addition to holding the Harmony and Counterpoint degrees. A problem with her hand forced her to stop her soloist career. Along with the music, she has vividly participated in various writing activities, thanks to which she became a member of the Greek Critics Union of Music and Theater in 2013. Today she writes reviews regarding classical music and opera in her web blog. She has been a steady music critic for several magazines in Greece and chief editor of Classical Music Review magazine. For her hard work she has received numerous scholarships from the University of Athens, the Fulbright Foundation, the Juilliard School and the Sylff Foundation, among others.



Ioannis Fulias

Assistant professor in “Systematic Musicology. Music Theory (18th-19th centuries)” in the Faculty of Music Studies at the University of Athens (personal website: http://users.uoa.gr/~foulias). He was born in Athens in 1976. He studied music at the Municipal Conservatory of Kalamata (degrees in Harmony, Counterpoint, Fugue, and Piano, 1994-1998) and musicology in the Faculty of Music Studies at the University of Athens (bachelor in 1999, and Ph.D. in 2005, with a dissertation on Slow movements in sonata forms in the classic era). He is a member of the Editorial Board and the Advisory Board of both the journals Polyphonia and Musicologia, as well as founder member and Secretary General of the Hellenic Musicological Society. He has participated in the Greek RIPM group, in scientific meetings and international conferences. He has also published several articles, as well as Greek translations of books (by R. Wagner, C. Floros and N. Cook) and shorter studies. His own books, entitled The two piano sonatas of Dimitri Mitropoulos: From late romanticism to National School of Music (2011) and The symphonies of Carl Ditters von Dittersdorf on Ovid’s Metamorphoses: A contribution to the restoration of a milestone in the history of programme music (2015), have been published by “Panas Music”. His research interests fall into the following fields: theory of music forms (from 18th to 21st centuries), the evolution of instrumental music genres and forms in the baroque, classic and romantic era, music analysis and form.



George Leotsakos

Music critic, music researcher and composer. Although he studied music privately with Konstantinos Kydoniatis and Yannis A. Papaioannou at the Hellenic Conservatory in Athens (graduating in 1964), he considers himself largely self-taught. As a student he began writing music criticism for the newspaper Kathimerini, succeeding Minos Dounias as its full-time critic in 1962. Subsequently he worked for several daily papers in Athens, including Messimvrini, Ta Nea, To Vima, Proini, Eleftheri Gnomi, I Proti, Epikairotita and Express, as well as for the periodicals Hellenika Themata, Anti, Diphono, Gnossi and Ekti Imera, the weekly cultural issue of Imerissia. He also served as music editor for the Greek encyclopaedia Papyros – Larousse – Britannica and the Ekpaideftiki Helliniki Encyclopedia, introducing to the latter new materials on dozens of Greek composers of the 19th and 20th centuries. Thanks to his collaboration with The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians in both 1980 and 2001 editions, these data were made partially available for a world-wide readership, too.

As a translator he has published books in Greek on Gustav Mahler’s and Jani Christou’s music, as well as Emile Vuillermoz’s Histoire de la musique. He was also a producer of Greek art music programmes for Hellenic Radio and in 1975 he was responsible for introducing programmes of traditional Asian music to the Greek public. However, in the early 1970s, he had already abandoned ethnomusicology, which occupied him from the late 1950s, devoting himself exclusively to research in the history of Greek art music, mostly inspired by his experience of Greek musical life as a critic. His main publication is the book Spyros Samaras (1861-1917). The Great Injustice in Greek Art Music: A Biographical Attempt (Athens 2013). He has also composed a small number of works in a free atonal style interspersed with modal structures.



Katy Romanou

Katy Romanou is a Greek musicologist, a researcher of Greek music in the C.E. She was a faculty member of the Music Department at the University of Athens and is at present a faculty member at the European University of Cyprus. Katy Romanou is also coordinator of the Greek team of RIPM.

She has published widely in Greek and foreign periodicals and collective editions, among which: “Exchanging Rings under dictatorships”, in Music and Dictatorship in Europe and Latin America (Brepols, 2009); “Music education in Nineteenth century Greece: Its institutions and their contribution to urban musical life”, Nineteenth Century Music Review (June 2011); “Verdi’s reception in Greece”, in Verdi Reception (Brepols, 2013); “Serbian Music in Western Music Historiography”, in Serbian Music: Yugoslav Contents (Institute of Musicology of the Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts, 2014). She is a contributor to Grove / Oxford music online (2015) for Greece and Cyprus.

Her recent books include: as editor and author, Serbian and Greek Art Music. A Patch to Western Music History (Bristol & Chicago, 2009); a translation of Chrysanthos of Madytos, Great Theory of Music (New York, 2010); as co-editor and author, Musical Receptions of Greek Antiquity: From the Romantic Era to Modernism (Cambridge, 2015).



Maria Sourtzi

Maria Sourtzi was born in Athens in 1976. She studied Music Theory at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna, where she obtained a M.A. and a Ph.D., both with distinction, under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Dieter Torkewitz. She also studied piano, violin, harmony and counterpoint at the National Conservatory in Athens. Currently, she teaches piano and music theory at the Music School of Pallini in Athens.


© 2002-2021 Polyphonia Journal